Home National Truth Commission Sworn In

Truth Commission Sworn In


The National Assembly of Nicaragua (Parliament) has sworn in the five members of the Truth, Justice and Peace Commission. They are:

Father Francisco Uriel Molina – Franciscan Priest

Doctor Jaime Francisco López Lowery (Vice Chancellor of the National Autonomous University of Nicaragua in Managua – UNAN)

Doctor Mirna Cunningham (Miskita feminist and indigenous rights activist)

Doctor Adolfo José Jarquín Ortel (Former Deputy Attorney General for Human Rights)

Cairo Amador (Academic, Intellectual and Brother of Carlos Fonseca, founder of the FSLN)

The commission will have three months to investigate the deaths of at least 45 people (as well as the wounded, those who disappeared and/or who were imprisoned and claimed were tortured) during the violent protests that occurred from April the 18th.

Meanwhile, the country waits for the date to be announced of the start of the promised dialogue between the Government of Nicaragua and the private sector (mediated by the Episcopal Conference – CEN).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here